EA closes Sims Social

1 05 2013

The strategic repositioning of Electronic Arts continued today with the announcement that its Facebook-based social games SimCity Social, The Sims Social and Pet Society will be shut down in June.

Anti-Social Behavior? EA Closes Sim City, Sims Social, Limits Facebook Exposure

This is just another reason why I’m against always online DRM and my choice to pay for just one MMO (WoW). In the far future, what happens to the game when the buissness running it declares it non-profitable and closes down the servers that are required to run the game? Like the controversies around the big titles of Diablo 3 and the latest Sim City. Or the company can go bankrupt and disappear alltogether.

Perhaps we should prepare ourselves for that distance future in our games, hoping for a patch that enables offline playing or multiplayers using old tech solutions, like a spawned copy on a friends computer over a local network.

Dragon Age Legends was another facebook game that suffered from the shutdown death but the developers did the brilliant thing of offering their game as an offline version, continuing saved games from the facebook shutdown. I can now continue DA Legends from my own machine.

As for old MMOs or aging MMOs (I’m looking at you, World of Warcraft), a quick search on Piratebay reveals tons of old WoW versions with private servers and server emulation kits.

During my worst WoW craze, (this was during the release of The Burning Crusade) I was curious of the end game content I will never see normally because I’m not interested in pvp or hardcore raiding. And I’m a collector and explorer gamer type wich meant discover ALL THE SECRETS, have ALL THE RECIPES, talk to ALL THE NPCS and explore ALL THE LOCATIONS. RPGs and adventure games will always be my crack.

Raid dungeons were a constant lure for me so I tried a server emulation and toyed with the powers of a Game Master, conjuring legendary content at my hand with a simple code and possesing multi-class skills.

After I have unistalled it (took too much disk space and I was getting lonley plus ultimate power removed the game challenges) I’ve come to the conclusion that today’s DRM cracking pirates might be the future game archeologists that will help us enjoy and conserve games even after the servers expires. Pirates make that technology accessable for everyone. Or engaging game developers might release the source code, recreate a game concept for offline play or making an offline version of an existing product (DA Legends). Good Guy Bioware.

So think of your product in the long future. It might be selling now, but how will you make your outdated game playable in the future? You can’t count on remakes because the obscure titles gets neglected. How will your work of art survive the apocalypse?

(Originally posted on my Facebook, 1st may 2013)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

